Respirer –

Today I went off the grid for an hour. It felt wonderful and I recommend it to anyone and everyone. A few moments to the myself and my music.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After my class at Parson’s, which ended at around 4 o’clock, I decided that I was as free as bird. I had done my responsibilities for that day and now I was able to go where ever my heart-felt it wanted to go – so I found myself in the middle of Washington Square Park. No pictures, no instagram, no tweets – just music and thoughtfulness. I sat down and felt the sun and the wind and I understood what it meant to be alive at that very moment. Among all these feelings – lonely was not one of them. This made me start to ponder life and why our society has come to the way it has. I began to understand that most adolescents, and even a few adults, are scared to be alone.

IMG_7959

Alone.

With only their thoughts.

 Only with themselves. 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And then I began to think of self-love and what it means. What self-love actually means. So here I go into some 19-year-old wisdom –

The only person that you have to live with is yourself. Before accepting or seeking anyone else’s approval or acceptance (if even at all), you should learn to accept yourself. It is so important to take time out of your life to just be.Open your heart up to learning. Be willing to understand.  It is so eye opening to be alone. You learn about yourself, it’s like spending time with an old friend. You learn what makes you unhappy and why it does. What you could do to fix it. What fills you with hope and what ideas do you want to share. You learn to appreciate how synchronized but chaotic  everything around you is – how irrelevant yet how so incredibly important you are. The odds that you could ever exist are basically zero. The odds of the stars and the universe coming together to create someone so perfect with such a specific mindset and ideas is ZERO.

 Here’s the link if you don’t believe me.

So next time you feel left out, on the edge, or your friends are not treating you the way you deserve to be treated – just remember; you always have yourself, and that’s not bad company at all.

xo Lina

Pinterest / Twitter / Instagram / Google+

Leave a Reply

